As part of their annual Alumni Weekend festivities, the Crabs held a pregame ceremony on Saturday to officially induct its Hall of Fame Class of 2014.

The class consisted of 10 players spanning nearly the entire history of the organization, from Red Hunt, the first Crabs pitcher ever, to Jeff Giacomini, who’s only five years removed from his playing days with the team. They also inducted the 1981 Crabs team, which went 43-10 and at one point won 25 consecutive games.

Here is the entire list of honorees:

  • Eldridge “Red” Hunt (1945-48)
  • Carl Del Grande (1948-51, 1954-55)
  • Dennis Pontoni (1959-64)
  • Augie Garrido (1959-61, 1966)
  • Rich Nye (1965)
  • Richard Bordi (1978)
  • Roderick Booker (1979)
  • Steve Neel (1984-85)
  • Gary Wilson (1989)
  • Jeff Giacomini (2007-09)

Click here for detailed biographical information on all of this year’s inductees put together by Crabs historian Brice Gummersall.

Redwood Capital Bank Ad
Crusty Crab Logo

Good Friends. Good Times. Great Baseball. Since 1945.

Humboldt Crabs Baseball, Inc. | P.O. Box 4422 | Arcata, CA 95518 | (707) 840-5665 | Contact Us